AI
Comparing AI Assistants for Literature Review
Vendor pages document research tools, file handling, plan limits, and accuracy cautions for ChatGPT, Claude, and Gemini, but not their literature-review quality.
Sources checked 2 Oct 2026
ChatGPT, Claude, and Gemini differ in their documented research tools, file handling, plan limits, and source access, but their vendor pages do not establish which produces the most faithful summaries or strongest synthesis. Chat Picker has not tested them for literature review, and the previous page’s unsourced statistics and test claims have been removed. Compare the documented boundaries, then run the same checks on your own papers.
What the vendors document
The vendor details below were read on the cited pages in October 2026.
Among the main paid plans, OpenAI lists ChatGPT Plus at $20 per month, Anthropic lists Claude Pro at $20 monthly or $17 per month with annual billing and $200 up front, and Google lists Google AI Pro at $19.99 per month. These are plan prices, not measures of output quality. Confirm the current terms before subscribing because vendors can change prices, availability, and limits.
Their research features differ in practical ways:
- OpenAI’s Deep Research documentation says the feature can use uploaded files, search the public web or selected sites, present a proposed research plan, and produce a structured report with citations or source links. Usage varies by plan.
- Anthropic’s Research documentation says Research is available to Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise users. It requires web search, conducts multiple related searches, and can search connected Gmail, Google Calendar, and Google Docs context. Research uses the same limits as standard conversations and may consume them faster.
- Google’s Deep Research documentation says Google Search is included by default, while users can add sources such as Gmail, Drive, uploaded files, and NotebookLM notebooks. Google Workspace services require a connection, and Google AI Ultra reports may include visual elements.
File handling can determine whether you can work from full papers, appendices, tables, or scanned material:
- OpenAI’s File Uploads FAQ says uploads are available on Free and paid plans, subject to limits and settings. Free users have three uploads per day, each uploaded file has a 512MB hard limit, and text or document files have a 2M-token cap.
- Anthropic’s file-upload documentation sets a 500MB limit for chat uploads and a 30MB limit for project files. For PDFs of 100 pages or fewer, Claude analyzes text and visual elements; for PDFs from 101 to 1,000 pages, it processes text only.
- Google’s file-upload documentation says a prompt can contain up to 10 supported files, subject to availability. Each non-video file can be up to 100MB. For a work or school account, a Workspace administrator must enable access to files from Drive.
The vendors also warn against treating generated text as verified scholarship. OpenAI’s accuracy note says ChatGPT can produce incorrect or misleading output and may sound confident when wrong. It notes knowledge cutoffs, possible access failures, and the need to verify important information against reliable sources. Anthropic’s accuracy note says Claude can create convincing but ungrounded quotations; Anthropic advises checking cited sources and the original pages rather than relying on Claude as the only source of truth. Google’s source-viewing guide says Gemini Apps sometimes show sources within or below responses. Google’s safety guidelines prohibit factually inaccurate outputs that could cause significant harm and say context is considered when evaluating outputs.
Usage policies also have limits. OpenAI’s Usage Policies say its rules do not replace legal requirements or professional duties. Anthropic’s Usage Policy requires qualified professional review for covered high-risk advice and recommendations.
Data settings differ as well. OpenAI’s pricing page says a training opt-out is available on Free, Go, Plus, and Pro. Anthropic’s pricing page says an opt-out is available on Free, Pro, and Max, while Team is not trained on by default. Google’s US plans page does not state a chat-training setting, so the pages read do not settle that point for Gemini.
What the documentation cannot tell you
The documentation does not reveal whether a summary preserves every important claim, whether extracted findings retain their original uncertainty, or whether a synthesis represents disagreement fairly. A large context window, storage allowance, research mode, or source link describes capacity or functionality—not demonstrated performance on your papers.
Only a controlled trial can show how an assistant handles your documents, citation conventions, research field, and acceptance rules. Without that trial, turning these documented differences into claims about accuracy or reliability would exceed the evidence.
How to check it yourself
Use the same papers, prompt, plan level, and tool settings for each assistant. Record what happened rather than relying on a general impression.
-
Summary fidelity. Give each assistant the same paper and this prompt: “Use only the attached paper. Write a concise abstract. After it, list each abstract sentence with the page or section that supports it; label any sentence you cannot support as Unsupported.” Check every sentence against the paper. Write down supported, unsupported, or misattributed statements and whether the page references resolve.
-
Key-finding extraction. Use this prompt: “Extract the study population, sample, intervention, comparator, outcomes, effect direction, uncertainty, and author-stated limitations from the attached paper. Write ‘not reported’ when an item is absent, and do not infer missing details.” Verify values, units, and qualifiers. Record omissions, distortions, and invented details.
-
Cross-paper synthesis. Supply the same paper set and ask: “Compare the attached papers. For each conclusion, name the paper and page that supports it. Separate agreement, conflict, and differences in population or method. Do not convert association into causation.” Record uncited conclusions, conflated findings, false consensus, and whether disagreements remain visible.
-
Tool-by-tool citations. Run each available search or research mode with the same question: “Find peer-reviewed guidance for auditing citation accuracy in AI-assisted literature reviews. Use the available research tools and place a source link next to every factual claim.” Open the sources. Record broken links, irrelevant evidence, inaccessible pages, and claims the cited source does not support.
-
Limitations and best practices. Give each assistant the same draft synthesis and ask: “Review this draft literature synthesis. Separate claims directly supported by the attached papers, inferred claims, conflicting findings, and missing evidence. Cite the relevant paper and page, and do not rewrite an unsupported claim as fact.” Record advice that invents a limitation, removes uncertainty, or changes the strength of a finding.
Which rows of the comparison matter
On the Claude vs ChatGPT comparison matrix, prioritize the rows labeled Free plan, Low-cost tier, Main paid plan, Context window in the app, How usage limits are described, Training on your chats, and Ads. For a three-assistant shortlist, use the Claude vs ChatGPT vs Gemini matrix.
Check each cell’s linked vendor source and read date. A blank or “Not verified” entry means the site did not confirm that item; it is not evidence that the feature is absent. Context-window and usage figures can help you avoid capacity surprises, but they cannot substitute for the source-based checks above.